Desktops forum

General discussion

Cinematographer looking to upgrade machine

by TalonRazor / June 2, 2004 6:46 PM PDT

Hello,

I'm a cinematographer who runs his own part-time business with a friend. I'm also a student and gamer. Currently, I built my own computer that I use in work, school and games. It's specs are:

Processor: AMD Athlon XP +2600
Motherboard: Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe
Video Card: Sapphire ATI Radeon 9800 SE
Sound Card: Audigy 2 Platinum ZS
Hard Drive: Western Digital 160GB and 100GB drives
RAM: Kingston DDR400 PC3200 512mb
Media Drivew: Sony DRU-510A and HP (not sure of model, bought off of a friend) CD-ROM

It's a UV case with decals on the side with the computer name "Hardcore".

Now I'm probably going to have about $400-$600 to spend this summer. I'm currently debating either selling my rig and building a new one or simply upgrading it. If I upgraded, what would you suggest I do? I know I want to replace the RAM and CPU, any other suggestions? What do you think about getting the new X800s? Or swapping mobo and going to 64-bit? Would that be a hassle? Has anyone done that?

If I got a new machine, I'm thinking about several things. One is a FireGL card, but I'm not to sure how those rate against the X800s. I'm also tempted by a dual CPU machine. What do you guys think of a Dual CPU rig? Are they worth it? Dual 32-bits CPUs better then a single 64-bit? If you did build a Dual CPU rig, what would you use?

I'm currently reading up on it and would like some tips and pointers! Thanks for all your help.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Cinematographer looking to upgrade machine
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates