If you have the iTunes preferences to consolidate the library, when you import tracks into iTunes, it will make a copy and leave the original behind.
If you turn that preference off, it will not make a copy but still know where the original file is and will play it.

The problem arises when you need to move the iTunes library to a different location or when you move the original files.

P