Storage forum

General discussion

cd/r drive problem

by Kodos / February 23, 2004 3:19 AM PST

Hey everyone, newbie here.
It all started when i tried installing visual studio .net for a programming class i'm taking. At first the installation was going smoothly but then it slowed way down. It took 10 just to copy small files and the cd drive sounded like it was struggling. After 3 hours it was only 25% done and still copying files. So i stopped it and tried to just copy the cd image onto my computer. The same thing happened. It copied fast at first but then slowed down and then all of a sudden it just stopped copying and it looked like explorer quit. I tried using a different ide cable then a different cd drive but the same thing happened so it might be the computer. I wasn't sure where to post this but i hope someone can help.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: cd/r drive problem
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: cd/r drive problem
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.