General discussion

Career in Search Engine Optimization

Hi....I am an Electrical Engineering Graduate, currently working as a SEO professional. I just want to know the future opportunities about SEO? Is SEO have a high Growth Rate?

Discussion is locked

Follow
Reply to: Career in Search Engine Optimization
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: Career in Search Engine Optimization
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments
- Collapse -
Re: seo career
- Collapse -
I wouldn't.

Since most seem to center about Google's search results it's a never ending roller coaster ride where you seek out and reverse engineer to figure out what Google changed. I've seen folk dump countless hours into SEO and forget something basic. Do you know what it is?

I'd like to hear what you think it is but my thought is to have a great product, service and fast delivery. Don't kill your budget and time with SEO.
Bob

- Collapse -
I have my doubts

I think it would be a useful adjunct to a website or portal designer but I would doubt whether there would be enough demand to make a full time career out of it.

As Bob says, you'd be spending a lot of time trying to work out each new nuance of Google's search engine every time they "improve" it. And if Microsoft had their way, I guess that would extend to Bing as well.