Video Cameras forum

General discussion

Canon Vixia HV30 -- too much camera for me?

by gofurther / March 25, 2009 6:21 AM PDT

Never owned a camcorder. I have no experience with video editing. I want to buy a camcorder, and at least have the option for video editing down the road.

The HV30 seems very enticing, high def for $600...but upon further research, seems to be probably "too much camera" for my experience level.

Any suggestions for a standard def camcorder? I think MiniDV would be best, to allow for video editing down the road. Can you still edit hard-disk formats as well, but it's just more difficult to do?

Are new models coming out soon, possibly reducing 08 models prices?

Thanks for any feedback.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Canon Vixia HV30 -- too much camera for me?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Canon Vixia HV30 -- too much camera for me?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
hv30
by chickenorfish / March 25, 2009 8:27 AM PDT