Cameras forum

General discussion

Canon SD500 or Nikon 7900

by Kamla_Anda / June 22, 2005 5:14 AM PDT

I'm new to the digital age of cameras and have been spending some time now looking at digital cameras and looking over reviews and reading up in the forums of several sites. The problem is I still haven't found any conclusive answer to which camera is better, the Canon SD500 or the Nikon 7900.

The reason I?m looking at these two is that I like the small size of both, the design and style. There look easy to carry around any wear and seem to be the best when it comes to this size of camera. I need something that I?ll be able to use down the road, something that takes great photos in all the usual environments, like action shots, day/night shots for outdoors/indoors portraits and landscapes, and dimly lighted evening parties. Since I am a novice and this camera will also be used by others in my family I would like it to be simple to use, for example just leaving it in auto and letting the camera take care of it all.

The problem is that from what I have read, the Nikon 7900 has a problem with low light photos but otherwise is a great camera with unique features like Face Priority AF, Red-Eye Fix, Blur warning, and D-Lighting. With the Canon SD500 I have read that some people have had problems with its LCD cracking and whining during movies and a few posts of it not doing well in dim light. I don't know of any unique features with the SD500 but do know that it is of good quality and it takes great photos.

I was hoping someone with either of the cameras could highlight the pro's/con's that they have found while using the camera, and/or someone comparing them for me. You see all I?ve been able to get so far from others posts that have asked this question is referral to other cameras:
The Fugi f10, seems a little bulky, and seems more towards the manual side of things compared to auto but does look like it takes great photos.