HolidayBuyer's Guide

Cameras forum

General discussion

Canon Digital Camera A 95 Powershot

by Cadavasal r natarajan / August 20, 2010 10:27 AM PDT

Following edited (now) message was passed on by you apparently to Canon
User Question : Why do people still buy Canon Digital cameras, and other products when the products are lousy and service is a joke!
I purchased from PCNation invoice #W0480213 dated 06/28/05 for
Powershot A 95 camera.. Canon service, Illinois replaced ccd unit order
#CQ504584 dated 03/18/09 and carried out other electrical adjustments
and cleaning. On 18 July 2010 the camera groaned and beeped and the
display on the screen was E-18. On 28th Mr. Norm of Canon Service said that the motor has failed and it will cost me US$ 89.++. Ms. Noreen of Canon Sales offered three of Canon Range at varying payments under their Loyalty Scheme, which involved payments lower than the repair costs in two cases! I AM NOT A PROFESSIONAL AND THE CAMERA IS USED PERHAPS 7 TIMES A YEAR ON TRAVEL OR FAMILY FUNCTIONS. That a fairly expensive camera in the mid-range lasts for just 3 years and fails after Canon repairs in a year is unacceptable.
Perhaps Canon policy is to produce ony short-life products and achieve their sales by loyalty programmes! One will be happy to support manufacturing in USA by short-life products to support our economy but Canon's policy is supporting the economy elsewhere.
Canon.