Camcorders forum

Question

"Cannot play back Initialize only using the camcorder"

by SpiritEssenceArt / September 6, 2013 7:51 AM PDT

I have a reconditioned Canon Vixia HF R300 camcorder and am a new user of camcorders in general. I have recorded over an hour of video (I am an artist and was recording for an art tutorial) and suddenly I heard a beep noise and since then I have not been able to play back any recordings that I had on there previously or this current one. I tried uploading it to my computer and got the same message. It also won't let me record anything more.

Obviously there is an error on the SD card (or at least I think there must be. I have only used this card a few times previously, and have bought it very recently. The card I have is a 32 GB high performance card which says will record up to 7 hours of HD video. I had the camera running for 2 hours maximum, and only maybe another hour of recorded sessions on it prior to this session.

Has anyone else had this problem? How did you resolve it. I know that if I initialize the card, as it is suggesting, I will lose all the data I recorded there. I am hoping there is a way to recover it.

Thanks - hope someone has some answers!

Arlene

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: "Cannot play back Initialize only using the camcorder"
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.