Office & Productivity Software forum

General discussion

Cannot Paste into Word 2000 from IE, OE, Web Sites, etc.

by NonSuch / December 10, 2003 5:40 AM PST

I have searched the Microsoft knowledge database and have found nothing on this issue. I have also posted this message in a Microsoft Word newsgroup but have, as yet, received no replies.

My OS is Windows XP Home SP1. I am using Word 2000

Pentium 4 3.06 G 1 G RAM 120 G HDD

EZ Trust AV and Firewall
Spybot S & D
Spyware Blaster

All online scans show the system is clean and ports are stealthed.

I have been using Word 2000 for over two years. I have always been able to
copy text from an internet document, web page, or e-mail and then paste it
into a blank document in Word. (This was on my old machine that had a
Windows Me OS).

I recently purchased a new computer and the OS is XP Home SP1. I loaded
Word 2000 on the new machine. Everything works fine except when I attempt
to copy something from a web page or an e-mail and paste it into a blank
Word document the "paste" option is grayed on the menu and will not work.

However, I have found that if I first open an existing Word document and
copy even one line of text, then I can go to the new blank document and the
"paste" option is functional. I can then paste that line of text into the
blank document. Having once done that, I can then go back to the internet
and copy anything at all, return to the new Word document, and now I can
paste the text there.

In other words, if I want to paste anything from the internet or an e-mail
into a new Word 2000 document, I must first paste something into it that
came from an existing Word document (even the current document itself!) or the paste function will not work.

I believe that this has something to do with the interaction between Windows
XP and Word 2000 for two reasons. 1) This never happened when my OS was