Resolved Question

Can the TC-P55ST60 display 120hz while gaming on a PC?

Hey everybody. I've had this particular plasma for years now and I was never really concerned about whether or not it could display at 120hz. However, recently, I've started using it as a gaming monitor and I've been wondering if it's possible with my current display. I tried making a custom resolution using ToastyX's tool along with Nvidia's as well. Unfortunately, all I get is a black screen on anything above 60hz. Any help at all in regards to this dilemma of mine would be much appreciated.

My display adapter is an EVGA GTX 970 OC'd connected to a Denon 1713 AVR via a "RedMere" HDMI cable. The television itself is also connected to the receiver with a "RedMere" HDMI cable. I have zero experience with 120hz, and am eager to see how it would improve my gaming experience (assuming it's possible, of course). As an aside, I've seen that 120hz has a much higher success rate at lower resolutions, but I'm not prepared to sacrifice 1080p for hertz. Just thought I'd make that clear in case that's the only way this can be done.

Overclock Guide:<br>

Also, this is just a small side question, but how do TV's today compare to the ST60? I got mine way back when it first came out in 2013. A year after that I had it professionally calibrated. The picture quality has been spectacular, but I've always had a niggling feeling that maybe I should have waited for a 4K TV. Especially, given that's going to be the new standard and all. I realize the technology is still in its early stages, but there are some games in particular that I imagine would look out of this world in 4K. What do you guys think? I guess I could always get a small 27" 4K monitor or something, but I just love gaming on the big screen. Happy

Discussion is locked

Imaginos_1 has chosen the best answer to their question. View answer
Follow
Reply to: Can the TC-P55ST60 display 120hz while gaming on a PC?