Laptops forum

Question

Can someone help me pick a laptop?

Hi all, I'm new to the forums and I am looking to buy a new laptop. I was hoping somebody could help me. I am currently a college student going for an engineering degree. I'm not to familiar with computers, but I do know with all the CAD I plan on doing, I will need a solid laptop. My budget is only up to $1,000. I have done previous research on laptops, and most of my choices came to gaming laptops because of their graphics capabilities. Again, I am a college student, so I will use this for things other than school and gaming.

I am looking for a laptop that is 15.6" and i7.

I have narrowed down my search to 5 different laptops. I have made an exception for 2 of the options on the budget because I thought these laptops were very exceptional.

1. MSI GE60 Apache -033 15.6-Inch Laptop

2. ASUS ROG GL551

3. Lenovo Y50

4. Lenovo Z50

5. Toshiba Satellite P50

[SPOILER]
1) What is your budget?
$1,000 (not including my 2 exceptions)

2) What size notebook would you prefer?
15" - 16" screen

3) Where will you buying this notebook?
Amazon or the website of the distributor

4) Are there any brands that you prefer or any you really don't like?
No

5) Would you consider laptops that are refurbished/redistributed?
I would like a new laptop

6) What are the primary tasks will you be performing with this notebook?
College work
CAD
Movies/Multimedia
Games

7) Will you be taking the notebook with you to different places, leaving it on your desk or both?
Both

Cool Will you be playing games on your notebook? If so, please state which games or types of games?
Yes - Not sure what types yet. I'm more of a console gamer, but I do like gaming laptops, just in case I move to PC gaming.

9) How many hours of battery life do you need?
I would prefer a lot

10) Would you prefer to see the notebooks you're considering before purchasing it or buying a notebook on-line without seeing it is OK?
Online is fine