General discussion

Can MacBook Pro laptop use IMAC monitor (easily)?

I am considering monitor options to use with my laptop (MacBook Pro).

I work as a print graphic designer and am partial to apple monitors.

I am thinking that spending for a 24" imac could be a good investment IF I could easily connect the laptop to that monitor.

Ideally I would like to work primarily on the laptop and use the imac mostly for backup, since that insures I have ALL needed files with me when I travel for work, and at the same time I wouldn't be SOLELY dependent on a single computer!

Any input on a which Imac would make most sense, or advice on this whole idea would be appreciated! THANKS- Jane

Discussion is locked
Follow
Reply to: Can MacBook Pro laptop use IMAC monitor (easily)?
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: Can MacBook Pro laptop use IMAC monitor (easily)?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments
- Collapse -
Let's look at video ins and outs...
- Collapse -
imac as external monitor for macbook

Hmmmmm - makes sense.

Don't know why the networking and additional software solution makes me a bit squeamish. But will give it some additional thought.

Many thanks for your quick response and the link to the earlier posting - it was exactly the info I was looking for!

- Jane

- Collapse -
Here's an idea
http://www.apple.com/displays/