Cameras forum

General discussion

Camera Advice?

by rbottner / April 6, 2005 12:02 AM PDT

I have been wanting to get into photography for a long time. I really enjoy taking pictures and when I have the opportunity to borrow a friends camera, I take some great pictures - some have even been published or used in small publications.

I have about $1,000 to spend right now on a camera setup but I am new to this so I am not sure what I need. I would like to be able to take all sorts of pictures, ranging from outdoor nature pictures on a sunny day to pictures of friends in a darker room at a restaurant.

It seems that there are TONS of options and I have asked my friends who are into photography and all have them have different answers for what I should do. And it's for me hard to decipher the difference between all of the features that the various cameras have to offer.

Keep in mind that this $1,000 is for EVERYTHING... the camera, a case, memory card(s), battery(ies), tripod, etc. etc. I have heard Nikkon is a great product, and have used a Nikkon 5700 and liked it. But then I looked at the Nikkon 8800 (in my price range with all of the accessores) and I don't understand what the features are of it.

Basically, I am not nearly advanced enough to buy an SLR. So I need a Point and Shoot camera that can take great pictures that I could do alot with, ranging from trying to sell them as stock footage to taking pictures for people at private parties and posting them on a website.

Any information or suggestions that you have would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Camera Advice?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates