HolidayBuyer's Guide

Camcorders forum

General discussion

Camcorder for art videos...please help!

by pipyr / December 4, 2008 4:39 AM PST

Hi all. I am a glass artist and I'm wanting to make videos of my pieces to show the movement on my hanging work and to give a real feel that the viewer is looking at the work in person. I plan to use these videos to send in my portfolio to galleries as well as to post online on sites like youtube.

I am extremely well-versed in still cameras and take all of my own photos, but I have never owned a camcorder...ever. I have done a lot of research and am now more confused than I was when I knew nothing Wink

For at least another year or two, I will be working on my Intel-based Macbook with a 2 gig processor and currently 1 gig of ram, but the ram can be easily upgraded if need be.

Being able to edit the video is going to be very important to me, as is accurate color balance (under controlled lighting conditions) and detail close-up. (Of course I realize that the compression when putting a video on-line will kill a lot of detail, but I'm concerned more with the galleries that will be viewing on DVD)

Because of the nature of why I'm creating these videos, I really have no idea what type of screen they will be viewed on. I expect many will be viewed on a computer screen.

I'm mostly concerned with image quality and the ability to edit these videos. As I said, I'm a complete novice when it comes to video but I am a fast study and don't mind extra work if it will produce better stuff. I'm looking for a model in the $1000 range and I'm *still* undecided about mini dv vs hdd, even after everything I've read.

Any suggestions or advice would be *GREATLY* appreciated!!

Thanks so much!
Pipyr

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Camcorder for art videos...please help!