Computer Help forum

General discussion

C Drive used space != to sum of file sizes??

Hi there,
I have a strange problem with my computer. I've searched these forums and the web and found nothing similar. Hopefully somebody here will be familiar with these symptoms. Please bear with me as I'm not an expert in computers and the jargon. (I know this post is rather long but I want to be as clear as possible about the problem and everything I've done so far.)

first and foremost:
Lenovo Think Pad, Intel Core 2 Duo, T7300 at 2Ghz, 778Mhz 984MB RAM,
The OS: XP Pro 2002 w/ SP3

Ultimately, the problem is that my computer is performing poorly. A few symptoms, (in no particular order of severity):
1) slow boot;
2) Office apps like Word open/load slowly;
3) sometimes when I click between application windows a "ghost" of part of the former window freezes in part of the new window;
4) it sometimes hangs on shut-down;
5) I must "repair" the wireless network adapater everytime I boot, or wake up from standby or hibernate.

One very weird fact jumps out at me - My 90GB hard disc is nearly full. This is strange because, as far as I know, I'm only using about half the capacity. This assertion is supported by several tests:

1) First I added up all the sizes of the files/folders in the C:\ drive =~45GB
2) Next, at the command prompt, I did a "chkdsk f" and then listed every file in C:\. I've pasted the result below:

Total Files Listed:
66413 File(s) 49,124,473,355 bytes
21882 Dir(s) 7,302,565,888 bytes free (NOTE missing 33GB)

3) I downloaded trial TreeSize software and ran it on the C:\ directory. I've pasted the report summary below:

Drive: C:\
Size: 89,679.0 MB
Used: 82,885.2 MB
Free: 6,793.8 MB
4096 Bytes per Cluster (NTFS)

This Folder:
Size: 49,579.1 MB
Allocated: 49,399.9 MB
Percent of Drive: 55 %
Objects: 70,380
Wasted Space: 139.8 MB