PC Hardware forum

General discussion

buying new PC for multimedia production

by tigah1 / March 23, 2004 6:44 PM PST

I've been doing a lot of music production over the last year, and can't even run some of the apps with my current system, let alone multiple soft synths. I've been upgrading the same box since 1998 or so, and it won't support a newer motherboard and only has 2 USB ports, so I'm thinking it's time to buy a new system entirely.

Right now I'm considering buying a machine out of our local classifieds with the following specs:
"P4 2.53GHZ COMPLETE SYSTEM W/MONITOR HP Multimedia Machine in box! Intel P4 2.53 Ghz System, 512 MB DDR memory, 52x32x52x cdrw, 50x CD drive, 80GB HD, 2 Amplified speakers, onboard Ethernet NIC, 56K modem, 6USB , 3 Firewire ports, Keyboard, mouse, Windows xp preinstalled."

Price is $850CDN, which is a lot cheaper than newer systems such as this one:

That has a somewhat faster processor, a bigger hdd, a better video card, and DVD-RW. Doesn't seem to me to be worth the extra $1000 though.

So is the used comp a good choice? Anything it's missing, or any questions I need to ask? I would be porting my current 120GB drive over to add to the existing 80GB drive, and probably upgrading the RAM to 1GB.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: buying new PC for multimedia production
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.