Laptops forum

General discussion

Buying a laptop, need help deciding!

by alexin_05 / July 27, 2008 10:22 AM PDT

Hi everyone, well as the title says I will get a laptop soon but I haven't yet decided which one. I'm a college student so I need a light laptop but also I need a powerful one, I like to play games like Call of Duty 4, Star Wars Battlefront II, Crysis, Halo, etc. I'm not looking for perfect system requirements for those games just the necesary ones.
As a normal student I run many multimedia aplications so I need a system that could handle those.
Finally, I live in Mexico and laptops are a little more expensive than in the U.S. so I can't pay a laptop that is $1300 (probably $1400) or higher.
Currently I have two options in mind, the Dell XPS m1530 and the Dell Studio 15, probably interested in a gateway.
So which one should I buy? also, if you have more options in mind please tell me.
If you recommend a Dell system please post the ideal system configuration for my needs.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Buying a laptop, need help deciding!
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Buying a laptop, need help deciding!
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.