Desktops forum

General discussion

Building a Better PC

by Nils80923 / April 14, 2008 7:08 AM PDT

First off let me apologize if this is the incorrect forum to be posting this in.

I'm currently thinking of building my own Desktop PC, I have around $800 to work with. However, I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to hardware and to be honest I'm lost among the thousands and thousands of products and manufacturers out there. So I have a few questions.

1) AMD or Intel?

2) What's the best place to buy my hardware, I know newegg is awesome but are there any others?

3) This PC is going to be used heavily for gaming what are the components that I should throw in the extra cash for?

4) What do you suggest to buy? Essentially, what products have stood out to you, not just because of performance but because of price as well.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Building a Better PC
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Building a Better PC
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.