Attention: The forums will be placed on read only mode this Saturday (Oct. 20, 2018)

During this outage (6:30 AM to 8 PM PDT) the forums will be placed on read only mode. We apologize for this inconvenience. Click here to read details

Desktops forum

General discussion

Building 1st Computer.... Help?

by brett_henney / October 5, 2006 8:43 AM PDT

So... I have decided I want to try to build my first computer. I know a pretty good amount about computers compared to the normal person, but not nearly as much as most on this site (from reading peoples posts). I thought I might try to take a stab and see if people out there could help.

Situation:

This computer is NOT going to be for gaming it is going to be for work purposes. My work is 100% on a computer. I am an architect and use it all day. I use Auto CAD, Photoshop, Illustrator etc... At any given time I have 5-10 programs open all working together, surfing the internet and listening to music. The computer I have now ALWAYS freezes and it drives me crazy. Sometimes I lose info I am working on.

I was wondering if people could respond with their recommendations on parts and how to configure the system. The only requirements I have is I would like to have 2 computer monitors. Since I have so many programs open at once this would make it easier. I will also be using Windows XP SP2.

Thank you for your time and advice in advance!!

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Building 1st Computer.... Help?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates