Laptops forum

General discussion

Budget Notebook Help Required

by Shades11 / November 1, 2004 9:11 AM PST

I would really appreciate any advice on buying a cheap notebook.

First let me state that I'm in Europe so model numbers might not correspond to what's available in the US, and that the models here will probably seem a bit old for anyone in the US.

Second, I'm not too technical, that said my next purchase will be my fourth portable, so the basics I understand.

Brief history (for anthropologists):

I probably buy a new laptop about every 3 years. My first was a Toshiba T2130CT with (if a remember correctly) a Pentium 133 and 8Mb of RAM. For me that was the best I ever had. It got dropped, fed crumbs and drank coffee all without giving up. You could even glue the cracks in the plastic casing together again. On Windows 95 it could cope with Word, Powerpoint, Excel, Access (just) plus Internet. I loved it, but times changed.

Second was a Toshiba Satellite Pro 490 XCDT, another sound Toshiba which did a good job until software moved on, and even then I only buried it after it had a fatal fall which put paid to the screen.

Third (the one I'm using now) is a Toshiba Portege 7200 (Pentium 650, 256Mb). I went for this one because it was cool, and I had money. I still like it, but it overheats and is now very dated. I would probably have stuck with it longer, but it got drunk one night on red wine (notice the pattern, Toshiba's are accident prone!) and is now on life support, requiring to be permanently connected to the mains, and with lots of wires coming out of it to keep it alive. Life expectancy is in days, at best two weeks.

So, it's time to by something new. (By the way, to keep your minds at rest, all previous ones have found a decent resting place at the bottom of a cupboard) This time round, I don't see any need to go for anything fancy (and money's tight), so I'm looking at basic stuff which will still be twice as fast as what I'm using.