TVs & Home Theaters forum

General discussion

Blu-Ray to go with Samsung TV and Onkyo HT

by lxman7 / August 1, 2010 4:05 AM PDT

Okay. I'm new to all of this so please forgive if this topic has been chewed over before. Can't seem to locate a search mode for forum topics--there are A LOT..and I'm quite a novice to A/V terms and features.
Here we go:
I have a Samsung 6300 LED TV. I am THINKING of purchasing an Onkyo HT-S7200 to complement it. I am looking for a Blu-Ray player to add to this future system.
To start, I have a few questions.
1) From what I can gather, the HT-S7200 will up-convert so would I need a BR player that can do this also??
2) I can't seem to locate ANY BR player that users don't tear apart in their reviews. Are there any out there worth their salt? If so, would any members here care to suggest a few that would go with the system I'm thinking of creating?
3) Are there any comments/suggestions regarding my choice of system components?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Blu-Ray to go with Samsung TV and Onkyo HT
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Blu-Ray to go with Samsung TV and Onkyo HT
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.