TVs & Home Theaters forum

General discussion

Blu-ray decision: Panasonic BD35k or BD55k?

by rdege / December 4, 2008 12:26 PM PST

I'm relatively new to the whole audio entertainment system, and have some confusing questions that I'm hoping some people can help me out with. I have the Onkyo TX-SR505 receiver, and currently have it configured with a 6.1 setup. I'm looking to purchase one of the two Panasonic Blu-ray players, but am not sure if I should invest in the more expensive 55k for the 7.1 analog out terminals, or stick with the cheaper BD35k. As a point of reference, the SR505 has HDMI, but as pass-through for video and audio. So that means I can only connect via optical, digital, RCA Stereo, or 7.1 analog multi-channel. So here are the questions:

1) Will I notice a difference with either TrueHD or Master Audio over Dolby Digital Ex, or DTS Digital Surround? (TrueHD and Master Audio are over the analog outputs; the Digital Ex, and Digital Surround are over the digital outputs).

2) Since I have a 6.1 setup, should I still be concentrating on a 7.1 setup, or on a 5.1 setup? Or is the Onkyo receiver smart enough to detect the signal and adjust it accordingly to fit my 6.1 setup?

3) Will the analog multi-channel inputs on the back of the receiver act as a pass-through of some sort, since the Blu-ray player would be doing all of the audio decoding itself? Or am I assuming too much? The Onkyo manual states that that the multi-channel terminals on the back of the receiver are designed for DVD players with SACD and DVD-Audio support. So I'm curious if it will still work with the Blu-Ray

Thank you to those that chose to stay and read my lengthy email. Any elaborate insights are appreciated

-Rob

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Blu-ray decision: Panasonic BD35k or BD55k?