TVs & Home Theaters forum

General discussion

Blding new home with media rm - Paradigm right audio choice?

by buckeyetom1970 / October 26, 2006 1:49 PM PDT

Please help. I'm a newbie in the home theater arena. I'm building a new home, and the company who does the extra cable and phone wiring specializes in home theaters. Cost estimate for my home theater room came in much higher than anticipated by this under-educated purchaser. Audio portion seemed really high till I read some earlier threads on this forum about buying the right speakers.

Looking for advice for 2 questions:

1) Is the product recommended appropriate for my needs? (I'd never heard of Paradigm or Denon till now) This will be a dedicated home theater room in my basement 16 x 19 where we'll watch movies and Sunday football.

2) Is it priced appropriately? Its not totally out of the ballpark, but I'd figured about 3000-5000 total for the project, and it came in at $9000. The audio portion was way higher than I'd anticipated...

Here's the audio portion of the price quote for my home theater:

Denon AVR 2307 Dolby Digital 7.1 AV Receiver $699
3 Paradigm Cinema 330 On-Wall Stage (L+C+R) $897
Paradigm Cinema ADP On-Wall Mid Surrounds $109
Paradigm Cinema 90 On-Wall Rear Surrounds $179
Paradigm PS-1000 750 Watt Subwoofer $599

So, are the speakers worth this much money? Are there cheaper alternatives with comparable quality? I'm a 'do it right the first time' kind of guy as opposed to 'buy cheap now upgrade later'. Realistically, if I spend this much on sound, I'll need to go with a 720p projector instead of a 1080p.

Thoughts? Please advise. Thanks!

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Blding new home with media rm - Paradigm right audio choice?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates