The CNET Lounge forum

General discussion

(Blated) Smoking Damaging Computers (RE Episode 1112)

by Wolven Spectre / December 1, 2009 11:45 AM PST

*NOTE* This was an email I sent to BOL and Tom replied to me that this was (of course) too long to post in the show and thanked me for sending in this perspective. I would have posted this sooner but my parents who I hadn't seen for 2 years (because of the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune) came up for my birthday and I of course preferred to spend my time with them than posting on forums.

Hi, I am a trained PC Technician and have to deal with used computers and I have had to deal with some fairly bad cases of cigarette smoke.

Because of the electric fields and the cooling air pushed through the system large amounts of dust, mold, mildew, bacteria, hair, and if the environment is humid, some moisture making the mold, mildew, and bacteria. The thing is the heat of the computer largely evaporates any trapped moisture when it is running.

Then there is the cigarette smoke. It isn't just tar, but areosoled ash and exhaled particulates. They are drawn into the computer and stick to plastic surfaces, metal surfaces, the dust (and et al) that already is going into the computer, and itself. Unlike the detritus usually found in a computer, these particles trap moister and don't let it go easily. This can cause corrosion, the shorting of components, and the mold and mildew to grow to a much greater extent.

On the low end this just causes faster clogging of fans and heatsinks, which left uncleaned for a short period of time will block cooling airflow allowing parts such as CPUs, Fans, motherboard chipsets, video cards, RAM modules, and most importantly, Power Supplys to have a much shorter lifespan and higher risk of failure. While hardware has some software protections built in, they focus almost entirely on the CPU and Chipset, leaving the other components to fend for themselves.