Laptops forum

General discussion

Big Debate: Turion or Athlon

by hung09 / July 14, 2005 7:05 AM PDT

Hi, I'm a college student in desperate need of some buying advice regarding a notebook choice. First off would it be smarter for me to wait until next year as I expect dual cores and 64 bit intels to make their way onto the notebook market? As far as my immediate needs go I would like to have: 1g ram, 80g 5400 rpm, turion or athlon 64 processor, wireless b/g modem, a good gcard for the occasional game, and a good battery life. I've been thinking about either the L2000 (special edition HP Lance Armstrong notebook) or the R4000. Any comments on either of these two systems? Thanks in advance.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Big Debate: Turion or Athlon
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Big Debate: Turion or Athlon
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Very nice machines.
by R. Proffitt Forum moderator / July 14, 2005 8:36 AM PDT