Cameras forum

General discussion

Best low light dslr (+/- $1K) for theatre/dance?

by mark467--2008 / April 6, 2011 8:25 AM PDT

I need to take photos (and occasionally video) of professional dance and theatre work. The lighting conditions are frequently quite low, so I need a camera that can take action shots (dance is basically sport photography, in highly variable/low lighting) in these conditions without artifacts. Photos are the primary consideration, although I'm attracted to the lenses on dSLRs for a wider range of video work than I'm able to do on a dedicated video camera, so the video function of this dSLR is also a big consideration. Due to friends' recommendations, I'm considering the Canon 60D or the (not-yet-released) Nikon D5100, but would be open to any other suggestions. I'm a relative newbie with dSLRs, so a Nikon D7000 or a higher end Canon seems like overkill -- I need professional quality photos, but a fairly basic pro-sumer camera that can handle low-light, highly dynamic conditions. (I run a professional theatre company, and have been let down by others' photos in the past, so I prefer to be self-reliant -- I'll have a learning curve when I get this camera.) I know I have to pay close to $1K to get a camera (not counting lenses) to do the kind of work I'm looking for and would like to keep the price for the body under 1K so I have some budget left over for lenses. Thank you in advance for any advice or suggestions you may have.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Best low light dslr (+/- $1K) for theatre/dance?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates