General discussion

Best Laptop for $1000

I'm thinking of getting my wife a laptop as a Christmas present, but the problem is that I am a senior programmer for a living and don't know how to compromise. My last desktop was around $2500 ... and I'm afraid to buy a Celeron (or equivalent), go cheap on RAM, etc.

What I am looking for is a laptop that for under $1000 (preferable, although I could I guess go to 1100 or 1200 if its worth it) that:

1. Runs Windows XP well
2. Would be used for surfing, email, MS Word, etc
3. Has a decent, readable screen
4. Not too heavy
5. Reasonable battery length (more than 45 mins)
6. Wireless-capable
7. Reliable
8. Will have hardware that will last longer than 6 mos.

I started looking at the HP dv1000, reviews were solid but not great.

My perfect scenario is her using the laptop around the house at will, being able to surf while watching TV on the couch, etc, and me not being in Hell dealing with it's shortcomings and problems all the time Happy

Thanks in advance!

Helj

Discussion is locked

Follow
Reply to: Best Laptop for $1000
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: Best Laptop for $1000
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments
- Collapse -
So far I have perused ...

The HP dv1000 and the Dell Inspiron 6000. Both get around a 7.5 user rating, which as I said isn't great, but not bad.