Samsung forum

General discussion

BD-P3600 pc sharing in auto mode: found problem with Mac

by giovannibajo / October 31, 2009 10:14 PM PDT

Hello,

I'm new on this forum. I'm a proud owner of BD-P3600, but PC-sharing in auto mode never worked for me, especially when using Mac or Linux boxes to share files.

Since I'm a computer programmer, I analyzed the problem through packet inspection and I found out why it does not work.

Tech talk ahead:

* Problem: sometimes auto mode cannot find any server in the network. Reason: BD-P3600 only talks to a LANMAN master browser, but does not trigger a new browser election. Workaround: on your Linux/Mac box, add these lines to smb.conf:
domain master = yes
local master = yes
preferred master = yes
os level = 65

* Problem: after having found a server in the network, BD-P3600 is unable to display the share folder list. Reason: BD-P3600 sends an invalid (malformed) NetShareEnum samba request. Windows is lenient and still reply. Samba on Linux/MacOSX is more picky and does not answer. Workaround: none found. I recompiled my own patched samba, but the bug should really be fixed in the BD-P3600 firmware.

Since this forum is followed by Samsung representatives, I'm more than happy to share my findings with the firmware programming team so to have them fixed. I would appreciate if I could get in touch with a Samsung programmer responsible for PC sharing.

Thanks!

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: BD-P3600 pc sharing in auto mode: found problem with Mac
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates