Web Hosting, Design, & Coding forum

Question

Batch file to truncate lines of text?

by jeffsgp / May 21, 2013 3:45 PM PDT

Hello,

I'm a complete noob. but am in desperate need of a batch file which will truncate all lines within a text file: 40 characters from the left.
.. and if possible, to allow me to designate the directory path?

As an example

from this:

Coding & scripting forum is the ideal place for newcomers and experienced developers to share ideas.
Discuss programming logic, debug code, or talk about best practices for keeping scripts.
Any programming language goes, so whether you need help with web applications, services, or software, we're ready to help!
etc.

to this:

Coding & scripting forum is the ideal pl
Discuss programming logic, debug co
Any programming language goes, so w
etc.

Thanks for any help with this

Jeff

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Batch file to truncate lines of text?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Batch file to truncate lines of text?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.