Speakeasy forum

General discussion

Baseball rules Q...

by EdH / October 19, 2006 12:11 AM PDT

My brother and I were arguing this last night. Actually, a low-key discussion rather than an argument, but:

He was saying that if you show the bunt (squaring to bunt) that you MUST bunt; you can't swing at the ball. He even went so far as to say that after attempting a bunt, you must bunt on subsequent pitches, but he wasn't sure about that. I am not sure about either of them. Anyone know?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Baseball rules Q...
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Baseball rules Q...
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
He's wrong
by Josh K / October 19, 2006 12:19 AM PDT
In reply to: Baseball rules Q...

It's not uncommon to square to bunt to trick the defense into thinking that's what you're planning to do and bring the infielders in. In fact one of the great plays of the last game of the 1986 World Series involved Mets pitcher Jesse Orosco doing just that, then taking a full swing and getting a base hit.

Also, if you have two strikes on you and you bunt foul, it's a strikeout.

Collapse -
(NT) (NT) you can swing away
by Mark5019 / October 19, 2006 12:19 AM PDT
In reply to: Baseball rules Q...
Collapse -
I don't think there is any restriction
by Evie / October 19, 2006 12:24 AM PDT
In reply to: Baseball rules Q...
Collapse -
(NT) (NT) THANKS. That's what I thought.
by EdH / October 19, 2006 12:58 AM PDT
In reply to: Baseball rules Q...
Collapse -
If this is what you guys fight about
by duckman / October 19, 2006 6:35 AM PDT
In reply to: Baseball rules Q...

You need to drink more

Collapse -
I am planning to drink more in the future...
by EdH / October 19, 2006 7:30 AM PDT

but I am not sure that will elevate the level of our discussions.

Popular Forums
icon
Computer Newbies 10,686 discussions
icon
Computer Help 54,365 discussions
icon
Laptops 21,181 discussions
icon
Networking & Wireless 16,313 discussions
icon
Phones 17,137 discussions
icon
Security 31,287 discussions
icon
TVs & Home Theaters 22,101 discussions
icon
Windows 7 8,164 discussions
icon
Windows 10 2,657 discussions

FALL TV PREMIERES

Your favorite shows are back!

Don’t miss your dramas, sitcoms and reality shows. Find out when and where they’re airing!