PC Hardware forum

General discussion

Bad Motherboard? Help Troubleshooting PC

I'm not very experienced troubleshooting PC hardware. I have a computer (4 year old Celeron 1.3) that started crashing a couple of days ago. If I waited long enough to restart it the PC would be useable for a couple of hours before it crashed again.

Today it crashed and didn't come back on.

I opened the case and powered it on. The CPU fan didn't come on. My first feeling is that the CPU overheated and powered the PC off . . . and maybe eventually cooked? How do I test a CPU? Put it in another machine?

Anyway, the HDD powers on, an extra fan I have powers on (when plugged into the power supply)and the on/off switch on the PC works just fine.

I tried connecting the extra fan I have to the main board in 3 different locations (all fan power outlets) and it didn't come on. I used my meter to find out the following:

Power supply is putting out 25.5V (read at one of the connectors used to plug into the HDD or CD-ROM drive). I tested by putting the positive lead into the 12V feed of the connector, and the negative lead into the ground feed of the connector.

The fan outlets on the main board each read 9.9 -10.1V. Seems to me they're a little short power but only 2V or so,right?

One more thing, when I power the PC on, nothing happens with the "stuff" that's connected to the motherboard (processor too, right?) - we know that - I mentioned it before. However, when I pull the plug on the PC to turn it off - the fans connected to the main board briefly power on.

What does all this mean? Is the mainboard shot? If so, why does it read any voltage at all? Is the power supply shot? Maybe it's putting out too much voltage?

Please help. I'm a total NEWB with hardware troubleshooting.

Thanks,

PO

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Bad Motherboard? Help Troubleshooting PC