Mac OS forum

General discussion

Average battery life of Powerbook and other questions

by ec1ipse99 / April 15, 2005 6:01 AM PDT

I've had my Powerbook for a couple months now, but I'm pretty sure that my battery does not last the 4.5 hours that Apple advertises on their website. I have a 15" Powerbook G4 that I usually run off the charger until its time to be plugged in again. Does anyone know if this is a standard problem?

Also since I'm new to the Mac world, how often do you recommend upgrading their software (ie. iLife '05 and Tiger)?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Average battery life of Powerbook and other questions
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Average battery life of Powerbook and other questions
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
How I get more time (all machines.)
by R. Proffitt Forum moderator / April 15, 2005 6:22 AM PDT

1. Dim the screen as much as I can.

2. Turn off Wifi if I don't need it.