Spyware, Viruses, & Security forum

General discussion

AVAST A/V, good replacement for AVG?

Anyone on this board happen to use an A/V program called AVAST and is it any good, user friendly for a non-Geek like me? I have been using AVG's free A/V and their A/S for about 2 years but might be making a change soon. Someone posted in another thread I started after I received an email this morning informing me that AVG had introduced a new version of their A/V, version 8.0 and to download it. Naturally I came here first to ask questions about it.

Someone suggested I might want to make a change to something else later on rather than download the new AVG free A/V 8.0 and that I should take a look at AVAST for future A/V protection and to switch to Super Antispyware for future A/S protection. I learned today that AVG will soon stop providing updates for both of the free products I currently have on my computer and that I would need to switch to the new AVG A/V 8.0. Anyone use either AVAST or Super Antispyware on their computers?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: AVAST A/V, good replacement for AVG?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: AVAST A/V, good replacement for AVG?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.