TVs & Home Theaters forum

General discussion

Audio and Video Wiring

by raildew / June 22, 2005 6:35 AM PDT

OK - I am pretty new at all this tech stuff, so some of these questions may be redundant (ie asked already at this forum), and very simple...but here goes.

So for sound (AUDIO), going from my DVD player or CD player to a reciver, what is the best way to get the best quality and surround sound possible. Obviously the standard, red and white (left and right) or composite is not as good as multiple composite, but is digital better than multiple composite or are the 2 equal. I have also noticed while looking around that most recievers that have an optical audio imput always have an RCA input labled "Audio Output Digital - Coaxial" - do optical imput and this other imput get used together? If you did use a multicomposite cord for audio, which splits up the signal to each individual speaker, if you have a reciever that has only Front, R, C and L speakers, and 2 surround sounds R, L and a sub input, but you have a 6:1 speaker system, do you get true 6:1 surround sound if you use an optical input?

For video, are there optical capabilities for this yet? All I have seen are component imputs, the standard Green, BLue, Red cords. Is this the best way to go? Is S-video better?

Thanks for the info and help

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Audio and Video Wiring
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.