Question

Asus WL-520GU Improve range and signal strength

Hello folks,

I am a total noob with networking so please be easy on me.

I have Asus WL-520GU router, about 2 years old. I hardly experienced any troubles with this guy so far as the router sits next to my laptop. Recently, I started working in the living room at wee hours of the day and I noticed that I do not get much signal, plus it drops so many times that working in the living room has become a nightmare. Its not that I live in a Presidential Palace but actually its as small as a chicken coop. When I talked to our ISP guy, he was surprised too.

I googled and found a few articles and try to work/working that way.
- I used inSSIDer to find out any interference. My router was using channel 1, although it was set to auto. Majority of routers in our apartment block use channel 1 or 11 (ALL Linksys, except me and an Apple guy) at 2.4GHz. I changed the channel to 3.
- I checked the firmware of the router. Its 3.0.0.8. Asus website gives me a list of firmware upgrades but I am not too sure if there is indeed any upgrade for the routers in the US.
I am not smart enough to install DD-WRT so staying away from it unless I find any didactic instructions. DD-WRT site is not for me.
- I am considering hanging router on the wall with Aluminium file behind the antenna. Read somewhere that it helps bouncing signal off well (really?)
- I am considering changing the antenna. The antenna is 2dBi. I found a few antennas on ebay, 5dBi, 7dBi, 9dBi, 10 dBi, 12 dBi, 16dBi May be I will replace the antenna with one of these. Any specific I should use? (I don't know if there is any limitation or disadvantage of using higher dBI antenna.)
- Lastly, I am considering buying a refurbished Linksys E1000 or E1200 router and connect both using ethernet cable, so that one of these guys act as a repeater.

Can anyone please tell me how do I proceed?

Discussion is locked
Follow
Reply to: Asus WL-520GU Improve range and signal strength