Computer Help forum

Resolved Question

Asus Netbook Won't Boot 0xc000000f

by Dafydd Forum moderator / December 9, 2011 11:06 PM PST

Asus Aspire One Windows 7 Starter.
Hi all,
my grandaughter (9) brought her netbook to me because it wouldn't boot. The message was,
Windows failed to start etc insert discs etc there are none, status 0xc000000f.
The boot selection failed because a required device is not accessible.
So I tried the repair my computer option no go.
Can't F8 into any mode so I hit Alt+F10 at boot and got to recovery console.
This failed at 44% with an error code 0x45d.
(winapplyimage cannot apply image)

Now back to the status 0xc000000f code.
I have checked boot order ok. Linux won't run just a quick flash on the screen.

I am not a newbie but not a tech, so any ideas? Mbr corrupt? Failing disc? Missing file?
TIA for any help.

Dafydd has chosen the best answer to their question. View answer
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Asus Netbook Won't Boot 0xc000000f
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Asus Netbook Won't Boot 0xc000000f
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.