Desktops forum

General discussion

Artist looking to build PC for graphics

by will2truth / November 8, 2009 9:07 PM PST

Hi all!

I am new to this forum and looking for some advice from those more educated about computers than myself (not difficult!)

I have been putting together specs for a computer by looking at other peoples builds and changing where nessessary. I know nothing about building a computer and wanted some kind advice about my choices.

Specifically, will there be compatibility problems and does anyone feel that am I wasting money anywhere or cutting corners!

Thanks for your support

Primary use: Photoshop (with graphics tablet) and other graphics software. Watching and editing video (hobby only). I am an artist so image quality is of primary importance.

Parts so far;

Processor: Intel core i5 750 (was waiting on this, I am right in assuming it will be better for me than AMD Phenom x4 955 -black? Also, are there different versions of the i5?)

Motherboard: Advice on what would be a good match would be greatly appreciated.

Graphics: ATI radeon 4850 (1GB), ATI radeon 4770 or should i look at the new ATI cards, maybe 5750 or 5770?

HDD: 1TB 7200rpm Serial ATA (probably get a back up external HDD)

Memory: Know very little about this area, maybe Patriot DDR3-1333 (2GB x2 x3?)

Case: Advice appreciated, HAF 932/922 or Antec (Should I be worried about power supply and fan?)

Monitor: I am considering the Hyundai 421D. It is an IPS panel so the color accuracy and viewing should be better than a *VA? The stats look convincing, has anyone heard anything, positive or otherwise about Hyundai? Here are 2 reviews if anyone can find the time to have a quick look!

http://news.softpedia.com/news/Hyundai-W241D-PVA-High-Quality-at-Low-Price-80327.shtml
http://www.prad.de/en/monitore/review/2008/review-hyundai-w241d.html