Mac OS forum

General discussion

Applications crash

by MarTayNy / January 2, 2012 7:36 PM PST

MacPro, Quad Core Intel, 3GHz, 4 GB RAM, OS 10.5.8
Working as a graphic artist, I most often use Adobe Photoshop as well as InDesign, and rarely Illustrator, etc. (CS 5). Sometimes I can work for hours, no problem and then applications freeze inexplicably, abruptly. They will not force quit and I cannot restart from the menu bar, and must turn off the power button and back on. I've zapped the PRAM and repaired permissions countless times, and removed all of my many fonts and carefully reloaded them one by one on an as-need basis. I've taken this computer to the Apple Genius Bar 4 times in the last several months, they've run a number of diagnostics and replaced a couple of minor pieces of hardware and say everything should be fine. But still the applications crash (Mail, Photoshop, you name it) and now job files that were saved sometimes become corrupted when I go to reopen them.

Any ideas as to how I can find out WHAT is wrong?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Applications crash
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Applications crash
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.