Attention: The forums will be placed on read only mode this Saturday (Oct. 20, 2018)

During this outage (6:30 AM to 8 PM PDT) the forums will be placed on read only mode. We apologize for this inconvenience. Click here to read details

TVs & Home Theaters forum

Question

Apple, Google or Amazon? Where should I buy my movies?

by JuanmaLorente / April 17, 2014 12:23 PM PDT

Hi guys,
I'm kind of new in this, hope my question is not too stupid.
In a few months I will be moving to the UK and will be able to invest some money in buying TV Shows and Movies and say goodbye to illegal downloads.
There are three options that I'm interested in, Amazon, Google and Apple. Where should I buy my movies and shows?
If I start buying my movies with Amazon Instant Video I will get the Amazon Fire TV. Chromecast for Google TV and Apple TV for iTunes.
I can see that the prices of the movies and shows is kind of the same in any of these options. The hardware changes a little leaving chromecast as the cheapest option. But that price is not a big concern for me because the difference is not huge.
I would like to know which option has more future, where should I invest my money? I will not like to start buying movies and shows in amazon and then after a couple of years have to switch to something different.
I know that it is a difficult question to ask because we never know what it is going to happen in the future but at least I can find out what the majority says of choose.
Hope you guys can help me.
Thanks so much.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Apple, Google or Amazon? Where should I buy my movies?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates