Computer Newbies forum

General discussion

adware, spyware and viral infection

by tcharon / June 12, 2005 3:16 AM PDT

I have a Dell Dimension 4700C.The operating system is Microsoft Windows XP Professional. I have the Norton Internet Security 2005 AntiSpyware Edition and a Microsoft Firewall.Would you illustrate the dynamics of a computer viral infection process. Obviously, I'm a layman but I think that if I know what I'm looking for, I can protect my computer. Specifically, David T, responding to Gretchen G's concerns about using "KAAZA", cautions:
'Be careful of what you download and think if it seems reasonable: there are few software programs out there under 100 kilobytes, but plenty of viruses and worms fit the category.'
That seems to suggest that the typical virus will stand out because of its small size. Am I close?
Another caution states:
'Scan all files you download immediately.'
I always thought the viruses got in as part of the downloading process. If that's the case then isn't your scan too late?
Please advise.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: adware, spyware and viral infection
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: adware, spyware and viral infection
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.