Cameras forum

Advice required on Compact Travel Zoom

by Bencilal / January 15, 2012 5:15 PM PST

Hi All,

I am a beginner in digital camera world and I want to buy a compact travel zoom digital camera.

From the basic search I finalized my requirements as below :

1) Compact Camera ( should be able to carry in pocket )
2) Optical Zoom above 10x.
3) Full HD video support should be there.
4) Manual control.
5) Budget <= 335$.
6) Shot to Shot speed should be good.
7)Image Stabilization should be Optical with CMOS sensor preferably.

Models under consideration :
1)Sony DSC-HX9v.
2)Canon Powershot SX220 HS.
3)Canon Powershot SX230 HS.
4)Nikon Coolpix S9100 .( eliminated bcoz of freezing issues reported by many users)
5)Nikon Coolpix S8200.

Sony DSC-HX9v is not available in stores as of now.
Can you please help me to choose one ?

Please expand the list with your suggestions.
Thanks in advance for your valuable suggestions.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Advice required on Compact Travel Zoom
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Advice required on Compact Travel Zoom
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.