Tablets forum

Question

Advice needed on buying a tablet for school

Hi,

I'm a student who will be starting med school in the fall, and I'm looking to buy a note-taking device, probably a tablet. What I really need is the capability to integrate written notes (via stylus) with text. One Note is really good at that; Evernote isn't there yet but might be soon. I'm trying to decide which tablet to buy.

I'm interested in the Surface because I know it will be One Note compatible, but it's not slated to come out until October, and I'm worried it will have a bunch of glitches at first until Microsoft works them out. I've also heard rumors that Windows 8 will limit what you can do with non-Internet Explorer browsers, which would be a dealbreaker.

I'm also considering the Asus Transformer series, but there don't seem to be any note taking programs as good as One Note, which I'm not sure will run on the Android OS. I'm also not sure if it can be as much of a "workhorse" in terms of running multiple file programs at the same time, and the keypad seems a little clunkier than the Surface.

Any advice about which tablet to get? I don't really care about gaming, camera, resolution, etc; I need something that can deal with the full MS Office spectrum (and browsing capabilities such as Firefox or Chrome). I think there are some tablet-laptop things (like Lenovo), but they seemed prohibitively big and expensive. I start school in August, so any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Advice needed on buying a tablet for school
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates