HolidayBuyer's Guide

Laptops forum

Question

Acer Aspire One - Stuck in a Checking file system on C: loop

by kirkhill / April 16, 2011 9:13 PM PDT

When I try to start my notebook I get the blue screen "Checking file system on C:(File system is FAT32) It goes through the process (Volume serial number is EEAE-8C9A in case that means something to anyone!) until it's 100% checked, the message then is windows found problems which it could not fix, soory it flashes up on the screen only for a second and I can't replicate here all of what it says. I then get the blue screen of death for a nano second and don't get enough time to see what it saysbut the last message is Error in writing the output log. It then tries to start but goes back to the checking file system process again and so on. I can't start it safe mode or safe mode with prompt.

Running Windows XP, just got an additional 1G of Ram added (now 2G) but it did work after that, so I don't know that's the problem.
I'm not technically minded so I guess I'll need to take it to a shop but if anyone has experienced this and knows what the problem is or how to solve it that would be great.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Acer Aspire One - Stuck in a Checking file system on C: loop
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Acer Aspire One - Stuck in a Checking file system on C: loop