Laptops forum

General discussion

Acer 4810t - SU2700 or SU3500 ?

by Akeeef2k6 / October 31, 2009 11:29 PM PDT

Hi all,

i am going to buy the Acer 4810T/4810TZ but i cant decide which one to buy in terms of CPU speed.

i have found following laptops:

-Acer 4810tz - Intel Pentium SU2700 - Windows Vista (incl. free Windows 7 upgrade from Acer) - 3GB RAM - 500$
-Acer 4810t - Intel Core 2 Solo - SU3500 - Windows XP - 3GB RAM - 530$

I know that the SU3500 is a little faster and gives a little more battery life but this particular item comes with Windows XP instead of Windows Visa (and Windows 7 upgrade).

I am a student and going to use the laptop for:
- Internet - mainly Firefox, multiple tabs
- MS Office - Word and PowerPoint mainly
- Watching regular movies (no HD)

Important is battery life for me. but also a constant running machine.

What do you guys suggest?
is XP better than Windows 7?
Does it make that much of a difference between SU2700 and SU3500?

Thanks a lot

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Acer 4810t - SU2700 or SU3500 ?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Acer 4810t - SU2700 or SU3500 ?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.