Laptops forum

General discussion

acer 2000 shopping

Looking for P-M 1.6 notebook:
512 Mb in one slot (though willing to settle for 256mb)
60gb hard drive with at least 5200 rpm
64 mb dedicated video +
all the usual internet and other goodies - though no software wanted
3 yr warranty would be better
cd burner/ dvd player (dvd burner of course nice but not necessary)
XP Pro

I'm a grad student that crunches a lot of data so speed is nice, so is not going blind looking at a screen. Don't need too many frills. Some portability and battery life would be nice (thus M chip). Also, don't want to break the bank.

would be willing to do some add-ons of memory and hard drive stuff myself since that'll be cheaper, though i have a habit of breaking computers so I'd prefer the manufact' install the harddrive even if it costs 50 bucks more.

Seems like HPzt3000 and Acer Aspire 2000 series would be my best bet. I know I can get all of the above with HP but it seems like I can get a tad more with the acer (better graphics, possibly better hard drive) plus I think the hp is a bit older (though I don't know how much difference this makes).

Thing is: I'm having trouble finding a wide selection of acers online. i've checked compusa, newegg, circuit city, jandr, costco, and even rudimentary google/froogle searches. Is it possible to find acers with the above in the US?

thanks

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: acer 2000 shopping
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates