When you overwrote the partition, and yes, you did choose which partition to install Windows on, you destroyed most, if not all, of the data.
That partition was formatted from Mac OS X Extended (journaled) to NTFS.
When you reinstalled OS X, that partition was either deleted or reformatted as Mac OS X Extended (journaled)
and then overwritten with the OS X Operating System.