Office & Productivity Software forum

General discussion

access - help!

by mokibaby / February 5, 2006 11:13 AM PST

I am working with Access 2000 and am trying to get some data out of my database. Can anyone tell me how to create a report that will contain every 5th record? I am new to access and base on the little I know, I believe I have to use a query but how to go about it? Can anyone please help me?

Thanks..

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: access - help!
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: access - help!
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Re: every fifth record
by Kees Bakker / February 5, 2006 4:52 PM PST
In reply to: access - help!

That's a problem, more or less.

There's a fundamental problem, and that's that MS Access is a relational database. And the concept of a 'set' in that theory implies there's no sequence, so you can't speak of each fifth. So you have to impose a sequence yourself.

What I should do: