Windows Legacy OS forum

General discussion

A question about reformatting

by BowHunter777 / December 10, 2007 1:42 PM PST

Hey Guys
I'm about to reformat my computer (XP Home)and since I haven't done this before I have a couple of questions about backing up certain things.Can I back up programs like for example Nero?.Programs that that I don't have installation disks for or do I just have to get them later?. I've backed up pretty well everything I want to keep like "My Documents","My Pictures" and things like that.Is there anything that I should absolutely not forget to back up other then the things I mentioned?.Any help or suggestions would really help because as I said I've never done this before. Thanks Guys.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: A question about reformatting
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: A question about reformatting
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Sorry. Programs don't backup.