General discussion

A PC Notebook for a Multimedia Designer Recommandation?

Hello,

My name is Boaz and i'm a design student in the Netherlands. For 4.5 years I've been using a pc desktop computer (PIII 866Mhz, 512MB, Matrox Millenium 450, and in total 450GB of storage space) which has served me well for both graphic (Photoshop, Illustrator) and video (Premiere, After Effects)applications. Lately, unfortunatlly, it seems to be losing it.. I've just recovered from a HD crash and its really about time for a new computer.

So.. I've decided to GO MOBILE, so i'm looking for computer which could serve me well in the fields mentioned above (3D is not relevant!). I've been reading alot in the last couple of weeks and I'm pretty much overwhelmed by information, yet I'd highly appriciate some advices, preferably BASED ON PERSONAL EXPERIENCE, prefferably from someone who's also in the field of design.

Most people I know use a PowerBook, which I'd rather not convert to, unless a striking convincing argument is behind it?

THANKS ALOT!

Greetings, Boaz

Discussion is locked

Follow
Reply to: A PC Notebook for a Multimedia Designer Recommandation?
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: A PC Notebook for a Multimedia Designer Recommandation?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments
- Collapse -
My new(?) laptop.