Laptops forum

Question

A new laptop for mainly 3d design work, but maybe gaming?

by Tomtom9401 / February 23, 2015 10:52 AM PST

Hey guys,

New to the forums, and I couldn't find exactly what I was looking for by searching. I am fairly new to the PC world and have a few potentially simple questions. If I were to look at gaming laptops, would they normally be the best for design work? Mainly I am looking at an MSI Stealth Pro that has these specs:
Intel Core i7-4710HQ (2.5GHz, 6MB Cache)
12GB DDR3L 1600 MHz
1TB 7200RPM Hard Drive, 128GB mSATA Solid-State Drive
17.3-inch Full HD eDP Anti-glare Screen; NVIDIA Geforce GTX970M with 3GB GDDR5 VRAM
Windows 8.1

I have done a bit of research and found that this thing has poor battery life and gets pretty toasty; however I am prepared to deal with this as long as it keeps up. I need something I can lug back and forth to work and use at home for different hobbies. I am under the assumption that basically if it is good for gaming it will be decent for rendering 3d images in my design software, being mostly blender/photoshop/Autocad123. Is there any aspect of laptop hardware that I may be overlooking? Thanks a bunch for the help. Also, I understand that this may be a bit overboard judging by the price, but I would like to have the flexibility of getting into complex video editing and potentially a bit of gaming as well.

On a side note, I recently came upon an interesting concept. Is it at all reasonable to try and maintain an older laptop with decent hardware and use its basics on the go, and have an external video card of my choice and home and office with an added monitor? Or will I need more than just GPU power for my design work? Thanks, Thomas

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: A new laptop for mainly 3d design work, but maybe gaming?